Gross Fat GenderFuck Drag Royalty

By now, many of you have probably read that fabulous blog post about Mike & Molly, on the Marie Claire blog written by previously unknown to me, but now reviled by any one with half a brain, Maura Kelley.  You haven’t seen the offending blog entry?  Well you can see it right here!

Maybe you’re too fat and lazy to click on that link.  I get it.  I’m fat.  I can be lazy too.  So here are some choice quotes.  And I promise, I am not taking them out of context.

Hmm, being overweight is one thing — those people are downright obese!”
No one who is as fat as Mike and Molly can be healthy.”
“I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other … because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything.”
“…in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room — just like I’d find it distressing if I saw a very drunk person stumbling across a bar or a heroine (sic) addict slumping in a chair.”
“I have a few friends who could be called plump. I’m not some size-ist jerk.”
“I think obesity is something that most people have a ton of control over. It’s something they can change, if only they put their minds to it.”
“What do you guys think? Fat people making out on TV — are you cool with it? Do you think I’m being an insensitive jerk?”

Of course people complained.  Loudly.  at the time of this writing, the comment thread counts 878 comments, almost all of them telling Ms Kelly that yes, she is an insensitive jerk.

Of course, she updated the post with an apology.

We’ll get to that in a second, but I thought I’d take the moment to personally aesthetically offend Ms Kelly.

 

Me, slightly offensive, hiding behind a chair.  Note, not slumped as if heroin addicted.   photo: truthserum.org
Coming really close to grossing Maura Kelly out.

 

Oh right, the apology. Mainly it was lame and as someone noted on twitter, basically it can be summarized to:
I was really insensitive, and was once anorexic, but come on, we’re talking about people who are FAT, like really really fat, like 100% over their recommended weight fat.  I would have said the same thing about people who are anorexic (though she didn’t and remains mum on models in the industry that her magazine is a part of)

So what do I, as fat Genderfuck Drag Royalty (thank you Kate Bornstein for the term) think of this mess, besides that Miss Kelly is an idiot?  Before we go there though, I thought I’d include a photo of my fat ass:

I know, it's a lot smaller than is proportionate. Thank god that blonde head got out of the way. I know, same wig ... shuddup!

Or how about this picture of me not actually making out, but probably grossing Ms Kelly out anyway?

This must be so confusing, do the skinny people cancel out the gross rolls of fat? photo: truthserum.org

So here’s the thing.  Why does Miss Kelly feel this way?  Why does she find fat gross?  She offers some justifications for her bigotry including public health and economics, but really, “gross” is not logical like that.  I once had an intern who found the words “broth”, “panty” and “moist” to be really gross, and there just is no logical reason for that.  Finding something gross is a gut reaction.

How about this.  Miss Kelly is not used to seeing fat people.  She is not used to celebrating fat people.  She is not used to eroticizing fat people.  And on top of that, she works in an industry that notoriously has a completely warped sense of what is normal (more on that in a later post), but “plus size model” of the moment, Crystal Renn is a size 10.  Which is a full 12 sizes larger than a 00, but hardly fat and not really a plus size.

In her provincial lack of exposure to the wonderful world of IMAX bodies, Miss Kelly decides that what is unfamiliar is bad.  And then finds reasons for this.  You know, kinda like how people are with gays (higher incidence of suicide and AIDS), black people (poor and violent), women (catty and shallow) and so on.  Did I call her bigot?  Umm, how could I when some of her friends are “plump”?  I’m sure their some of her best friends too.

There’s not much else to say other than to leave you with one more photo of me in my beautiful, sickening, gross, glory.  I’m not making out with anyone, so maybe it’s not what Miss Kelly was getting at, but oh well, here goes:

I'm just here to light up your life.

If you’re wondering if the point of this post was to publish photos of my gross fat self.  Umm…yes.

Leave a Reply

